Library Hours
Regular hours:
Monday 1-8
Tuesday 1-5
Wednesday 1-8
Thursday 1-8
Friday: Closed
Saturday: 10-5
Sunday: 1-5 More...
Contact Us

Friends of the Rockport Public Library

The Friends of The Rockport Library is a volunteer organization with the specific mission of raising additional funds for the Library and dispensing these funds for items that enhance the Library, but that exceed the Library's budget. At present it raises most of its' money through book sales, membership dues, gifts and bequests.

Anyone interested in becoming a member can print out an application and send it with cash or check to:

Friends of the Library - Rockport, MA Inc.
P.O. Box 31, Rockport, MA  01966

Typical uses of the Friends of the Library funds:
  • Free passes to local and Boston area museums
  • Support of a wide variety of children's reading and play programs
  • Meet the Author series of speakers
  • Cabin Fever Film Series
  • Holiday decoration at the library
  • Funding of the library copier for staff and community use
  • Library enhancements that are beyond its budget
The Friends of the Library Board meets on the first Thursday of every month. The principal concerns of the Board are:
  • Preparing and executing Book Sales
  • Preparing the annual Membership Letter
  • Deciding how their collected monies should be spent.
  • Preparing the August Annual Meeting and finding a widely recognized speaker for that occasion.
  • Finding interesting persons - writers and authors - to speak publicly in the Peggy Brenner Friends Room.
  • Supporting enhancements to the library budget through the judicious expenditure of funds raised
2016-2017 Board members include Dianne Anderson, Peg Anderson. Brad Bigelow, Louisa Casadei-Johnson, Lynn Clarkson, Barbara Dapolito, Martha Fox, Marty Holdridge, Eleanor Hoy, George Kauss, Nancy Kearns, Deb Kowalski, Phyllis Krenn, Christine Norris, Jenna Olson, Leslee Peterman, Joanne Ponte, Lana Razdan, Wally Rowe, Wayne Sheppard
The Emeritus Members include Janice Beacham, Barbara Brackett, Christine Doyle, Neil Linsenmayer, Stephen Rask, Judy Spurr, and Richard Verrengia.

If you are interested in serving on the Board, please contact one of the members of the Board. 
Elections to the Board take place in the summer.